So…Online Dating Really Works?

On a whim, I decided to post an online dating profile on Ok Cupid last week. I honestly didn’t think I would get any responses. I’ve done the online dating with Match and Plenty of Fish but there were nothing but crickets in my inbox. I also tried Craigslist (don’t ask me why) and nothing but horn dogs and perverts responded with enclosed pics of their throbbing privates.

I was for certain that I was going to meet some weirdo who wanted to add me to his collection of dead bodies in his basement. I even contemplated deleting my ad the same day it was posted. I was terrified. I had to pause for the cause when The One Who Never Let Up messaged me! That truly irked me.

While searching, I came across the type of man I liked—Hershey kiss complexion, slender, socially conscious, cultured and intelligent. His profile seemed too good to be true. I wanted to respond to his profile but I hesitated. A part of me feared being rejected and I really don’t like being the aggressor. I knew that he could see who viewed his profile so I figured if he liked mine, he would respond. He responded! Yay! *does happy dance*

We exchanged numbers and he called the next day. Everything he said was so thought-provoking and deep. I couldn’t get enough of it. Finally! I’m talking to a man with a brain! I didn’t have to listen to a guy brag about his sneaker collection, his fancy car, his penis or his money. There were no awkward silences on the phone. I found his intelligence so sexy and refreshing. He had that Malcolm X swag and I wanted to be his Betty Shabazz.

He also expressed the fact that it was hard meeting like-minded people and wondered if he had to hold part of himself back in order to conform. I totally understood because I find myself doing the same at times. We also had the same taste in music, books, and similar thoughts on social issues and religion.  We made plans to meet each other the very next week.

FAST FORWARD>>

We met at the Menil Collection for our first date yesterday afternoon. I was extremely nervous but once I saw him, all of those feelings disappeared almost instantly. Something just felt right about him being in my realm and I his. We walked around, admired various artworks and had stimulating conversation. After the museum, we went to Starbucks. We had frappes and spent a couple of hours talking even more. I felt like I’ve known him my entire life. I didn’t want our conversation to end and for someone who is as quiet as I am, that’s huge.

All in all, it was a great date. It’s probably one of the best ones I’ve ever had. This online dating thing pleasantly surprised me. I wasn’t turned off or bored out of my mind. I didn’t need that “emergency” phone call from my bestie. I didn’t have to rub lotion on my skin or else get the hose again.

The date felt organic and it left me with full of intrigue. I learned a lot about him and vice versa. If he were a book, I wouldn’t mind losing myself in his pages. I also like the fact that nothing sexual ever came up. I am definitely not used to that. We have plans to meet again next week. We’re watching a documentary. I love documentaries! He also suggested that I make dinner. I think he’s trying to check out my cooking skills y’all. What should I make? Let’s cross our fingers and hope no food poisoning occurs.  That would be a disaster. And I will keep my legs and mouth closed. I will act as pure as the driven snow.

Have you ever dated online? How was your experience(s)?

4 thoughts on “So…Online Dating Really Works?

  1. “He had that Malcolm X swag and I wanted to be his Betty Shabazz”

    Haha..that line was cute. Definitely tried online dating before and I highly recommend…even though I’ve came across several weirdos. However, I’ve been using online dating sites as a coping mechanism when I’m upset or sick of my current boo. I’ll run the free trial, flirt, and BS…then delete my profile. It becomes a problem a month or two later when you sign-up again..and the same people remember you from months prior. Have you ever tried BlackPeopleMeet? I always wanted to try it out…but it seems sleazy.

  2. lol, nice one. and way better tan my complete fail of an experience on the net dating world. 🙂
    food wise, macaroni cheese? over here (in england), we do ours differently…made with egg yolks, nutmeg, leeks, white wine, mushrooms, thyme, 4 cheeses (gruyere, marscapone, parmesan, mild chedder (and stilton on the top if you like that)), and full fat double cream….honestly, you’ll be married by the time dinner is over. 🙂
    hope it goes well.

  3. LOL!! cute and interesting story. I have been curious about online dating but I always think this place is so small I’d end up running into some person I know and didn’t want to date so I told them I had a man or let them assume it. Then too there’s the fear of running into some perv. I’ll just live vicariously through your stories for now and decide if I really want to give it a go. ;D

Leave a Reply

