Today Makes a Month

I wasn’t going to blog about this but what the hell? I felt like I needed to release it into the blogosphere. It may seem trivial to some (aka my closest friends) but eh, most of them don’t read my blog anyway.

Today makes a month since my breakup with The One Who Loves to Text. Sure, we wouldn’t have worked out in a gazillion years but today still kinda stings though. I never thought I would end up falling in love with someone who I used to flick off like a piece of lint.  And after being single for 7 years, I was excited and blindly saw potential in us—even after knowing about a few of his previous relationships fails.

The way we started off was wrong. He was involved with someone and I knew it. Maybe this was karma’s way of getting back at me. She made me fall in love with him. She also made me think that things could work out with us after they parted ways. Maybe this wasn’t karma’s doing. Maybe it was due to my own f#ckery and my necessity to be and feel loved at any cost.

Several feelings are swirling around right now.  I feel lonely. I feel like every relationship I pursue is doomed to fail. I feel angry that I gave all of me and received nothing—unless you count penis. (Side note: I really wasn’t getting much of that either. LOL.)  I feel a sense of loss but how is it possible to mourn something that I never had? But I also feel a sense of relief because I felt like my heart was always holding its breath around him. I feel free but somehow crave the dysfunction.

I really need to go to a SLAA meeting. I really do. Sigh.

I made a breakup/sentimental/lovesick soundtrack a few minutes ago and I’m going to listen to it. Music is a source of healing for me. I like to crank it up and lose myself. I’m going to reflect, maybe get a lil’ teary eyed and eventually laugh myself out of it when I realize what the f#ck I’m doing.

  1. “Choux Pastry Heart” By Corrine Bailey Rae
  2.  “Fool of Me” by Me’Shell Ndegeocello
  3.  “Love Ridden” by Fiona Apple
  4.   “Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri
  5. “Not As We” by Alanis Morissette
  6. “Don’t You Remember” by Adele
  7. “The Scientist” by Coldplay
  8. “Tears Dry on Their Own” by Amy Winehouse
  9.  “I’d Do It All Again” by Corrine Bailey Rae
  10.  “Do You” by Ne-Yo
  11. “Anytime” by Brain McKnight
  12.  “Good Mourning” by india.arie
  13.  “Le BOOM Vent Suite” by Jill Scott
  14.  “Out My Mind Just in Time” by Erykah Badu
4 thoughts on “Today Makes a Month

  1. Music is an amazing source of healing. Best feeling in the world? My breakup playlist, my tennis shoes, and a trail. Afterwards it’s nice not even remembering why I started running in the first place, but at the end it was all for me…

    Even the worst relationships still sting when they’re over. Even the worst people can be missed. It’s about learning to let go and realize how stupid we were to feel pain for them at all…

  2. uniquevenom hit the nail on the head with that response. Music is an amazing source of healing and exercise helps you to feel so relieved because of the positive chemicals it releases in your body.

    I think any relationship that ends hurts because it’s kind of like a failure and none of us likes to fail. Also we usually have some sort of feelings tied into the person so breaking that tie hurts a little bit.

    Fortunately, in time all wounds heal.

Leave a Reply

