It’s International Women’s Day…Now What?

I won’t fake the funk, I’ve never knew much about this day or what it entailed. Do sexy oiled up men parade around me and present gifts to my lady garden? Do they recite poems about how bountiful my breasts are? Do men feed me grapes or carry me around like Cleopatra? Do I chant all day, “I am woman! Hear me roar!” Does Hallmark make cards to mark this occasion?

"I am your queen! Bow before me minions!"

Is this a day for the feminists? Jesus, Buddha, and Oprah probably know I’ve done some things to set the movement back. Do I get to sit at the table this year or twiddle my thumbs at the kiddies table jealous as f#ck? Is it a day for strong women? Heaven knows that I can be as weak as day old coffee in some regards. Is it for women who behave like women? I can be a little mannish at times. I truly do believe that I had a penis in another life. Am I somehow disqualified?

Damn, I wish I had her confidence!

So what is this day really about?

Well, I did a little research. And by research, I mean Google!

International Women’s Day (March 8th) is a day that acknowledges and celebrates the economic, political and social achievements of women past, present, and future. The first national Women’s Day was first celebrated in the U.S. in 1909. Each year, there seems to be a centralized focus. The United Nations (UN) theme this year is: Empower Women – End Hunger and Poverty. And according to WID official website, there are over 200 events planned in the U.S. today. That’s quite impressive!

So there you have it. Thanks Google! How do you plan to celebrate International Women’s Day?

Can a sista still get those grapes?

8 thoughts on “It’s International Women’s Day…Now What?

  1. “Do sexy oiled up men parade around me and present gifts to my lady garden? Do they recite poems about how bountiful my breasts are? Do men feed me grapes or carry me around like Cleopatra? Do I chant all day, “I am woman! Hear me roar!” Does Hallmark make cards to mark this occasion?” Why can’t this happen everyday? *pouts* (Sorry the Leo in me is speaking)

Leave a Reply

