I Had A Date!

Well, I guess pigs flew again. I had a date this past Saturday! Yay! It has been so long since I’ve been on a date. I hoped that the dating world didn’t changed much since I completely abandoned it in 2008. Yes, my last date was in 2008! It wasn’t like guys were falling over themselves to date me—unless you count the “let’s watch a movie at my place and get naked halfway through.” Wow. Lucky me.

Who is my date with? It’s with my last boyfriend. Let’s call him The One Who Had Potential. We briefly dated in early 2005. Yes, my last boyfriend was in the year 2005!  It was my favorite relationship. I felt like a real girlfriend for the first time. Everyone knew who I was to him. We got along so effortlessly and spent a lot of time together. We were like love struck teenagers. But that didn’t last too long…

When his ex found out about our relationship, she set out to make my life a living hell. She harassed and framed me for things that I didn’t do so he could leave me. She claimed that I harassed her, threw a brick through her window, keyed his car, and slashed his tires, etc all because she wanted to convince him that I was some raging psycho bitch. I’m grateful that he didn’t believe her but it became very overwhelming and strained our relationship. We broke up 3 months later. He said he needed to be there for his family and moved back in with her and their 4 children. I understood and found it commendable (to a certain extent) but it broke my heart.

We recently reconnected via Facebook. I was suspicious because I wondered if it was her pretending to be him. We started emailing each other back and forth. I finally gave him my number and he called. It was like no time passed as we talked and laughed at the top of our lungs. He apologized for the drama that they both put me through. He also said that his biggest regret was leaving me but thought he was doing it for the right reasons. He also said that he realized that they weren’t meant to be and have been separated for nearly a year. He asked me out to dinner and I said yes.

We went to a Kim Son, a Chinese restaurant this past weekend. I was extremely nervous. I was definitely out of practice when it came to dating. I have gotten used to talking through my vagina and now I had to talk through my mouth! Oh, the humanity! LOL! He wanted to know why I was acting shy as if I didn’t know him, never seen him naked, or taken a dump in front of him. We talked about the past and he asked for my forgiveness a few times throughout our date. I told him that I did but a part of me is still holding on to the hurt and what we’ve could have been. He also said that his intention was to be in a long-term relationship with me but his ex made it difficult. She has since moved on with someone else but selfishly still wants him to be alone.

Most of the nervousness subsided and we start smiling at each other like Chester cats. I felt like I was 15 all over again. He looked at me the way he used to. He told how beautiful I was, how much he missed me, and how he thought about me from time to time. It did give a girl a little ego boost. We stayed in the restaurant near closing time and he walked me to my car. We made plans for another date. I could tell that he wanted to kiss me. He was fumbling for words and finally said, “I want to kiss you but I don’t know if I should. I don’t know if you really forgive me or not.” I let him simmer in that thought for a few more minutes and distracted him with more small talk. I bid him farewell with a hug and a peck on the lips.

It felt really good going out again. It felt good putting on makeup, a cute dress, my Spanx lol, and heels. Maybe next time I won’t be so nervous.

2 thoughts on “I Had A Date!

  1. Sweetie, I’m glad you had fun; it seems as though the date went well. But my advice would be not to get back together with him. It ended for a reason, and no matter what excuses you make for yourself, the crazy bitch who ruined your relationship last time will always be in his life if they had kids together. It would be great to go on a couple dates with him to get used to dating again, but don’t let it get too far. Is the reason you’re with him again because you’re lonely? And you sound like a very strong and confident woman. You don’t need to get yourself mixed up in all that drama. Find someone who is good for you.

Leave a Reply

